REVIEW- Drunk Elephant “Time to Wake Up” Kit

Hi everyone,

Welcome back to my blog. It has been ages since I wrote a proper blog post but much has happened since then and I’m ready to get back to regular posting.

Every year around November- every beauty enthusiast around the world starts making wishlists and saving up money to grab deals at the Black Friday Sale! Last year for the 2020 sale- I saved up enough to finally try the DRUNK ELEPHANT C firma and B hydra serum in a kit. The minis were good enough for me to form an opinion about the products.

Time to Wake Up set by Drunk Elephant

[Read on to find out if it’s something you can splurge on during the 2021 Black Friday Sale]

ABOUT THE KIT- The mini serums came together in a nice little kit called the “time to wake up set”. The minis are 8ml each and while they do seem really tiny- but if used the right way can last upto 5-6 weeks.

According to official instructions on the DE website- it is supposed to be used as a SMOOTHIE (their words) by mixing a pump of each serum in the palm and then applying to clean, dry face. And that is exactly what I did which actually did save up a lot of product for long time use and I could actually notice the difference they made to my skin and form a proper opinion.

MY EXPERIENCE- I started using this in my AM routine everyday right after I recovered from Covid because my skin had become absolutely lifeless and dull during my quarantine and I had high expectations from this product.

The consistency of the B hydra serum is more of a white gel like texture that feels very cool on the skin. On the other hand the C-firma serum is a lot more watery with a slightly orange tinge and metallic fragrance.

The C firma and B hydra are mixed together on the palm before application

The C firma has a powerful antioxidant complex with 15% Ascorbic acid and a bunch of extracts that claim to give bright and firm skin. The B hydra serum is formulated with my favourite humectant- glycerin

[you can read the full ingredient list here]

The first week of using these 2 serums mixed together – I was honestly very underwhelmed because it didn’t feel like I’m doing anything substantial in my routine but after exactly the 3 weeks, when I was almost done with the tint bottles, I started noticing my acne scars were more or less gone, my pigmentation was lighter and my face was visibly brighter and more even toned. I fell in love immediately because I’d never noticed such a change in my skin with any other serum.

By the 4th week, the Hydra serum got over but I still had a little C firma left so I started using it on it’s own but by the end it felt irritating on my skin without the B hydra serum. I had some acne but nothing major throughout the time period of me trying out the DE minis and while it didn’t irritate my skin while I was mixing the two but on it’s own I felt C firma was slightly too strong for my skin. I did not use any other active serum in the same routine. I also tried the B hydra serum on it’s own sometimes in my PM routine (just a small pump) and it is definitely very hydrating but I felt it was nothing extraordinary.

The effect of the two together is what worked for my sensitive acne prone skin in a positive way and I feel that is how the DE products should be used- like little smoothies just as they recommend.

The C firma serum is definitely not for Vitamin C beginners because of the high 15% concentration but if your skin is used to the ingredient- this will make you fall in love with L-ascorbic acid. Th B hydra on the other hand is something every single skin type can use and enjoy, if you want to try it out.

FINAL OPINION In the end- I realised these are definitely worth the hype and honestly you do not need the bigger bottle because it’s huge and really expensive.

If you really want to try out some DE- I highly recommend to try these kits with minis that are slightly affordable and the quantity is definitely good enough.

The minis are 8ml each

I got these at a great deal during the Black Friday 2020 sale from Cult Beauty so you should definitely check out 2021 deals as well.

Just some pointers to remember- avoid any other high concentration active serums while using the C firma serum because it can irritate the skin. (You can use your favourite niacinamide though). Using a sunscreen of your choice with minimum SPF 50 every day is a must.

My rating: 4.5/5 for the 2 together

Will I repurchase? I will repurchase the KIT for sure but not the full size. I’m satisfied with the 4-5 week use I got out of the mini serums and I also want to try other minis from DE

Hope this helps you to decide whether to splurge or save your money on Drunk Elephant

Thank you for reading,

Have a nice day!

Published by The Brown Girl Beauty Blog

A dentist by profession with a passion for makeup, skincare and all things beauty. ♡

Leave a comment